7 questions for Jerry Hawthorne


2065663

Jerry Hawthorne

This time, I will start with the English version of the 7 questions because today I have the privilege to ask the 7 questions to Jerry Hawthorne the man behind the mices of Mice & Mystics a game he created in 2012, illustrated by John Ariosa and published in English by Plaid Hat Games. Jerry who live in Texas ( I hope to be able to give him a real interview one day) is known not just for Mice & Mystics, he also created Battleship Galaxies: The saturn Offensive and some expansions to Heroscape. His game Mice & Mystics received some reward and I couldn’t wait to see his next game! I enjoy very much so his Mice & Mystics wich is a good family game.

Whitout waiting here are the 7 questions for Jerry Hawthorne.

1- How old were you when you played your first board game and which board game was it ?

«I’m not sure how young I was but I think checkers was my first board game.»

2- Why and how did you decide to design a board game ?

«I have creative ideas all the time. If I didn’t follow through with expressing them, I would literally explode. I started designing Mice & Mystics by writing a story that could be split into equal sized chapters that were objective based.»

3- What are your 3 favorite board games ?

«I love Heroscape, Heroquest, and Warhammer Quest.»

4- For you, what is the best combinaison for a succesful board game ?

«I like games with strong theme, rules I don’t forget between plays, and surprises. I like being surprised.»

5- How do you proceed to design a game ?

«I start by outlining the core idea and feel of the gameplay. I also write out a pitch to see if I can quickly and concisely express the essence of the game and its main gameplay elements. »

6- What tips could you give to someone who want to design a board game ?

«Don’t wait! Don’t use the word ‘can’t’! Don’t keep your idea a secret, enlist your friends to help. Give acts of service to the board game community. Learn to teach, because you will be teaching your game a lot, and being good at it is an asset! Let kindness be your primary talent with all other talents following.»

7- Could you give us a small info about your future projects ?

«I am currently working on a large and ambitious expansion for Mice &Mystics called Downwood Tales. It will take the mice out into the forest for all kinds of outdoor adventuring!»

Thank you very much Jerry to take the time answering the 7 questions. If you want to know more about Jerry’s games foolow this link: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/boardgamedesigner/23005/jerry-hawthorne

 

Laisser un commentaire

