7 questions for Roberto Fraga


Roberto Fraga
Roberto Fraga

 

Roberto Fraga of Spanish origin, is a prolific author with more or less 60 games under his belt. Games like Dance eggs, River Dragons, Cosmic Attack or Contrario. This sailor at heart and in life, will receive his first award in 1992 for his game French Line, a game about shipping. This reward will be the first of a long series. He is published by big companies (Ravensburger, Haba, Bioviva, Cocktail games, etc …) which allows his games to be found in many major retailers and ifor them to reach a large number of players. Much of his games are also family games and children’s games but not only.

So without wait, I present to you 7 questions for Roberto Fraga

1 – How old were you when you played your first board game and what was it ?

« Starting when I was 7 years old I played Chinchon, a traditional Spanish card game with my parents. Otherwise from 8 years old I played the few games of the time, Monopoly, and Scotland Yard, etc. … « 

2 – Why and how did you decide to create board games ?

« I’ve never asked myself the question. I always created, designed, fabricated, cobbled together. It was a need. Thus creating game was first linked to my own readings of the time (when I was 14 years old), SF. So I started by creating space combat games, 3D wargames, etc …. « 

3 – What are your 3 favorite board games and why ?

« Villa Paletti, Ticket to Ride, River Dragons. Because they are the only ones I REALLY want to play again and again … « 

4 – For you what is the best combination for a successful game ?

« It nust be simple, original but not too original, fluid, which we want to play it again immediately, it must please my stepmother, it must win the Spiel des Jahres and especially, it must have an incredible marketing plan! « 

5 – How do you proceed to create a game ?

« I collect ideas every day, every minute, every second. I observe what is around me. I listen to what people say, how they behave and what are their reactions. I often wander the shelves of games and toys or home improvment stores or even gadgets stores. I love to start from a mechanism, a heterogeneous object, and then derive a game idea I’m going in all directions like a gigantic tree with thousands of branches … then I prune  :o)  »

6 – What advice would you give to someone wishing to create a board game ?

« If one is convinced that the idea is great (not good, but excellent), unique and great, he must invest heavily and ESPECIALLY DO NOT LET GO HIS IDEA! « 

7 – Could you give us some information on your next project ?

« It would take too long. There are too many. But there will be some electronics, magnets in other improbable gadgets, and « exotic » publishers :o)   « 

Thank you, gracias Mr Fraga for taking the time to answer 7 questions. For more information about Roberto Fraga:

http://www.robertofraga.com/-Qui-suis-je-.html?lang=en

Laisser un commentaire

