7 questions for Uwe Rosenberg / 7 fragen an Uwe Rosenberg


Uwe Rosenberg
Uwe Rosenberg

 

German  (Antworten)

Well, who has not heard of the game Agricola released in 2007? This game has now become a classic modern board game and if you do not know, rush in your game store and go buy it. This is a must. So who is behind this classic? Uwe Rosenberg.

Uwe is German, and beside Agricola, he created a number of other games like and not only Le Havre, At the Gate of Loyang and Merkator. The mechanic of his games is often a  manage resources type and even if you do not like the covers of his boxes a little sad, Nobody icould deny the quality of his games. It goes without saying that he has received many awards!

So, I have the privilege to present without delay 7 questions to Uwe Rosenberg.

1-How old were you when you played your first board game and which board game was it ? 

Als ich vier Jahre alt war, hat mein Großvater mir Schach beigebracht. Mit meiner Großmutter habe ich viel Halma gespielt. Als ich neun Jahre alt war, war das Topspiel in meiner Familie „Racko“ (ich empfehle es noch heute), mit zwölf Jahren habe ich mit Freunden oft Schach, Skat und Scotland Yard gespielt, später Kuhhandel und Acquire, danach 1830 und Civilization, die wohl wichtigsten Spiele in meiner Karriere als Spieleerfinder. Racko, Kuhhandel und Civilization pflanzten Gedanken in mir, aus denen Jahre 1995 die Ideen zu Bohnanza erwuchsen.

« When I was 4 years old, my grandfather taught me chess. With my grandmother, I played a lot at ‘Halma.’ When I was 9 years old, the popular game in my family was’ Racko ‘(I now recommend), at 12 years old, I often played chess with friends at’ Skat ‘and’ Scotland Yard ‘, later’ Boursicocotte ‘and’ Acquire ‘after ‘1830’ and ‘Civilisation’, probably the most important game of my career as a game designer ‘Racko’, ‘Boursicocotte’ and ‘Civilization’ were germinated ideas in me, so in 1995 the idea of ‘Bohnanza was born.  »

2- Why and how did you decide to design a board game ?

 » Ich tat es einem Nachbarsjungen gleich, der ein Spiel für seine Mutter zum Muttertag entwarf. Ich war damals 12 Jahre alt (heute bin ich 43). Wie Jungs so sind: es war ein Fußballspiel. Und so wurde auch mein erstes Spiel ein Fußballspiel. Es folgte ein Minenspiel und danach meine erste selbstständige Entwicklung: Ein abstraktes Zweipersonenspiel mit dem Namen „Spiral“, das ich in den nächsten Jahren gerne als „Spiralnebel“ mit kosmischem Thema veröffentlichen würde.  » 

 » I did it with a neighbor boy who even designed a game for his mother on day Mother’s Day I was then 12 years old (now I’m 43). Like many boys.. I loved football so my first game was a football game there was a game on the Mine before and after my first self-development.. An abstract two-player game with the name of « Spiral » I want to publish in the coming years as the « Spiral Nebulae » with a cosmic theme. « 

3- What are your 3 favorite board games ?

 » Von anderen Autoren: Civilization, 1830 und Puerto Rico. Unter meinen eigenen Spielen: Caverna und Spiele, die erst noch erscheinen werden. Eines davon spielt in Ostfriesland, in dem Dorf, in dem mein Vater geboren wurde. Auf dieses freue ich mich besonders. « 

 » Games from other authors : ‘Civilization’, ‘1830’ and ‘Puerto Rico’. Among my own games  : ‘Caverna’ and games that are not out yet. One of them is played in East Frisia. in the village where my father was born. One wich make me particularly happy. « 

4- For you, what is the best combination for a succesful board game ?

 » Ideal ist es, wenn man neue Ideen mit Spielreiz verbindet. Diese Frage bleibt trotzdem sehr vielfältig zu beantworten, weil es alleine mehrere gültige Interpretationen gibt, was überhaupt Erfolg ist: (1) finanzieller Erfolg absolut, (2) finanzieller Erfolg in Abhängigkeit von den eingebrachten Arbeitsstunden, (3) Auflagenhöhe, (4) Verbreitungsgrad eines Spiels, (5) Auszeichnungen, (6) pädagogischer Wert, (7) gute Kritiken oder (8) Anerkennung von Personen aus der Zielgruppe. Sehr wichtig ist auf jeden Fall auch die Illustration des Spiels. Sie muss Atmosphäre vermitteln und zugleich funktionell sein. Das hinzubekommen ist häufig eine große Herausforderung.  » 

 » Ideally, this is to combine new attractive ideas of games This question have a lot of diversified responses because there are several valid interpretations as to what success mean. (1) The absolute financial success, (2) financial success based on hours of work produced, (3) The distribution (4) The rate of diffusion of a game (5) The price (6) The educational value, (7) Good reviews (8) The recognition of people from the targeted group. What is very important in all cases, is the illustration of the game. You need to pass the atmosphere and at the same time be functional. Accessories are often a major challenge. « 

5- How do you proceed to design a game ? 

 » Erst lege ich mich auf eine Spielreizidee fest. Das ist etwas anderes als die Kernidee (bzw. der Kernmechanismus), von der viele andere Autoren reden. Zur Spielreizidee suche ich ein Thema dazu und garniere die Idee mit kleineren Ideen, die gut zum Thema passen. Eine Kernidee dagegen ist das „Wow!“-Element eines Spiels, die Idee, die ins Auge sticht, die beim ersten Kennenlernen sofort einen Kaufreiz auslöst. Diese muss nicht notwendigerweise während des Spiels auch der treibende Motor sein. Aber genau der ist mir wichtig. Diesen möchte ich bestmöglich gestalten. Da ist Originalität untergeordnet. Das Neue, darauf vertraue ich, entsteht während der Zuschneidung des Spiels auf das Thema.  » 

 » I first fixed myself on a main idea of the game.This is different from the basic idea (or the basic mechanism) that many other authors refer when they talk about a game idea. I’m looking for a theme to be completed with small ideas that go well with the theme. A basic idea, however, is the « Wow! » element of a game, the idea that catches your eye, which immediately triggers a desire to buy. This need not be the driving force throughout the game, but what is important for me is to make it possible. I would do the best is the main originality. after I trust in carrying on the theme of the game. « 

6- What tips could you give to someone who want to design a board game ? 

  » Man sollte Spaß an der Entwicklung haben. Dies kann und dürfte bei den ersten Versuchen noch nicht so recht gelingen. Um Erfolg zu haben ist es am besten, wenn man schnell wieder mit etwas Neuem beginnt. Man sollte immer auf der Suche nach den richtig guten Ideen sein. Meine Erfahrung ist, dass man den wirklich guten Ideen schnell ansieht, dass sie sehr gut sind. Man muss sich nur auf die Suche machen. « 

 » You must take pleasure in development. This can not and should not really succeed in the first attempt. To succeed, it is best to start with something new. You should always be looking for good ideas . My experience is that you can quickly see interesting good ideas. You need to focus on research. « 

7- Could you give us a small info about your future projects ?

 » Es wird einen Nachfolger von der “Glasstraße” geben, ein Spiel, das so ähnlich ist wie „Glasstraße“, und ein umfangreiches Zweipersonenspiel, das in meiner Heimat (im Norden Deutschlands) spielt. « 

 » There will be a successor to ‘Glass Road’, a game that is similar to ‘Glass Road’, and a full two-player game that takes place in my area (northern Germany). « 

Thank you Uwe for answering the seven questions. Also thanks to my cousin for her help in translating the answers from German. For more information on games of Uwe: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/boardgamedesigner/10/uwe-rosenberg 
Agricola
Agricola
Laisser un commentaire

