7 questions for Richard Breese


Richard Breese

Today, we are going to England where Richard Breese lives with his family and works in finance.

Richard is a creator of games who published his first game in 1989 : Chamelequin, an abstract game of strategy. He also created Reef Encounter, Aladdin’s Dragons and of course Richard is the creator of the game series « Key » with Keythedral, Key Harvest and the famous Keyflower co-created with Sebastian Bleasdale and illustrated by Juliet and Jo Breese and Gemma Tegelaers. This game has received many awards and are published under Richard’s own publishing company: R & D Games.

Here are without waiting the 7 questions for Richard Breese.

1.    How old were you when you played your first board game and which board game was it ?

« There were always board games at my parents’ house when I was a child.  I can’t recall the first but it was probably Coppit. »

2.    Why and how did you decide to design a game ?

« I’ve always enjoyed playing games.  I played some D&D and Talisman.  I had an idea for a movement system based on different character classes moving across different terrains.  I simplified this down into san abstract game and this became my first published game Chamelequin in 1989. »

3.    What are your 3 favourite games ?

« Rummikub, Wizard and for the moment Keyflower.  But my choices will depend on who else is playing. »

4.    For you, what is the best combination for a successful game ?

« I try to design games where there is plenty of player interaction, that the interaction is through the game mechanics and not direct against other players, that actions have positive results, that there are several meaningful choices and that there is only a little luck.  For me these criteria can lead to a successful game. »

5.    How do you proceed to design a game ?

« From the initial idea I work up a prototype.  I play test it as much as possible and until I consider that there is nothing else that can be done to improve the game.  I create the graphics along with the playtest then get my sister Juliet to create the final illustrations. »

6.    What tips could you give to someone who want to design a game ?

« To play as many different games as possible so as to find out what works for you.  Then to playtest with as many people as possible and take on board any comments or criticisms they have.  Sometimes you will decide what you are doing is better, but often they will have valid ideas that are worth incorporating.  Try and make your prototype as professional as possible so as to enhance the playtest experience. »

7.    Could you give us a small info about your future projects ?

« In 2014 there will be another full expansion for Keyflower.  Then in 2015 I am hoping to publish an animal game called Inhabit the Earth. »

Thank you Richard for the answers to my 7 questions. To know more about Richard Breese’s games: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/boardgamedesigner/134/richard-breese

keyflower

Laisser un commentaire

