7 questions for Ignacy Trzewiczek


Ignacy Trzewiczek
Ignacy Trzewiczek

 

In the world of games, there are game designers from all around.

During the Spielwarenmess of Nuremberg in 2014, I discovered a lot of good board games from the eastern europe which never hit the shelves of french or US stores !!!

With this in mind, today I decided to ask someone from Poland to answer the 7 questions. Someone who created a lot of games and games that actually are on our shelves in France and in US.

Ignacy Trzewiczek.

Ignacy Trzewiczek is a game designer and a long-time RPG writer and he is also a publisher of games under the logo Portal Games! He designed the famous Robinson Crusoe : Adventure on the Cursed Island, also Stronghold, The New Era and a lot of expensions for Neuroshima. He last releases are Imperial Settlers and The Witcher Adventure Game.

Without waiting, those are the 7 questions for Ignacy Trzewiczek.

1. How old were you when you played your first board game and which board game was it ?

I don’t know. I remember that as a kid I played a lot The Amezing Labyrinth from Ravensburger. This is an incredibly smart and entertaining game for kids. Now, I played it with my kids and still I have a great time.

2. why and how did you decide to design a game ?

I was a gamer for a long time and at the beginning I was designing stuff for my own purpose and my fellow players. At some point I tried to earn money – I wrote scenarios for Warhammer Role Playing Games and sent to publisher. They were published, I got paid and that’s how it started to be my job. I write about this in my book Boardgames That Tell Stories, I encourage you to check this book and read the whole story.

  1. What are your 3 favorite games ?

It’s hard to answer. 3 favorite Role Playing Games? Or 3 favorite miniature games? Or board games? Card games or party games? I play a lot, I have few hundred games and depending of mood and fellow players I play different games. 3 favorite games I can play with my son are Neuroshima Hex, X-Wing and Memoir’44. But 3 favorite games I play with my wife are different. And with guys from my club are different too…

  1. For you, what is the best combination for a successful game ?

It has to be engaging. It should immerse players and entertain them. It should have simple rules, and yet, give a meaningful choices during game.

5. How do you proceed to design a game ?

I start with picking a theme, then I read books and watch movies about this theme and I learn about it. It takes about 3 to 6 months. Then I begin with building prototype. I focus on building tools that will help players explore and feel the theme. It takes another 4 to 6 months to build prototype that will work smooth and will be interesting. Then it’s time to balance the game and then production may start…

6. What tips could you give to someone who want to design a game ?

Be patient. And have courage to trash ideas. Designing games is trashing ideas and always looking for better. 

7. Could you give us a small info about your future projects ?

I run BoardgamesThatTellStories.com blog where I write about design process and games industry. I invite everybody to subscribe to the blog to learn about games. This year I will publish my new game called Imperial Settlers. I hope it will be a title that players will like. It’s about building your small Empire.

dziękuję bardzo ! Thank you very much Ignacy for your time and if you want to know more about Portal games : http://portalgames.pl/en/

Ignacy is writing a great blog about game design as well : http://boardgamesthattellstories.wordpress.com/

Portal Game

Laisser un commentaire

